Buddhism: Your Questions Answered


< Buddhism: Your Questions Answered    

1. The Wisdom of Perfect Conduct (成所作智)

Your eyes see this world of forms, ears hear sounds, nose smells the fragrance, the tongue tastes and there’s sensation in the body when it is being touched. When these senses coincide with ignorance, (与无明相应) you will then act according to what your affinities dictate (依照缘分).

In cultivating ‘The Wisdom of Perfect Conduct’ (成所作智), it doesn’t mean that you turn a blind eye or to deliberately ignore the world around you. Instead, in dealing with whatever you encounter, you think and act based on your wisdom (智慧的思维、行为).

Note: When you examine and realise that all phenomena go through the four states of formation, existence, destruction and emptiness (成住坏空) you have ‘The Wisdom of Perfect Conduct’.

It is through this wisdom that Bodhisattva wishes to enlighten us about the reality that all things are equal in this world (一切都是平等).


2. The Wisdom of Profound Insight (妙观察智)

The Wisdom of Profound Insight is the wisdom you apply before your line of thought is formed.

With your skillful wisdom, you observe and see right through the root of all matters and the advancing of affinities in this world.

Like what I have mentioned earlier, when you examine and realise that all phenomena go through the four states of formation, existence, destruction and emptiness (成住坏空) you have ‘The Wisdom of Perfect Conduct’. ‘The Wisdom of Profound Insight’, on the other hand, is when you observe, analyse and compare the phenomena in this world and the concepts you form are not imaginary, illusory nor built on assumptions.


3. The Wisdom of Universal Equality (平等性智)

Due to our attachment to our notion of self (我执), we are not able to appreciate others. With this ego, we develop either a kind of arrogance (骄傲) or inferiority complex (自卑心). At other times, you may desire to gain control, ‘save-face’ (要面子) or take great pride in yourself (要虚荣), etc.

It is not possible to transform these falsehoods into wisdom; it is through eliminating these absurd graspings (妄执) that one gains ‘The Wisdom of Universal Equality’.


4. The Perfect Mirror-Like Wisdom (大圆镜智)

‘The Perfect Mirror-Like Wisdom’ is attained when the earlier seven consciousness are purified and the eighth consciousness begins to go into a state of meditative concentration (禅定).

The first few types of wisdom mentioned earlier are exceptional as they encompass generosity (布施), morality (持戒), patient endurance (安忍), diligence (精进), meditative concentration (禅定), skillfulness (方便善巧) which constantly purify the seeds in the seventh and eighth consciousness.

The wisdom in the eighth consciousness (‘The Perfect Mirror-Like Wisdom’) has unlimited potential that is able to eliminate those unwholesome thoughts accordingly, and bring forth the magnificent, infinite wisdom that can be put to skilful use (庄严、无量妙用的智慧).

The first step towards attaining ‘The Perfect Mirror-Like Wisdom’ is: To do away with the attachment to one’s view (破除我见), purify the mind that does not dwell on the worldly appearances, sound, smell, taste, touch, and phenomena (色声香味触法). This is when your sense of discrimination is purified.

Gradually, you will gain ‘The Wisdom of Universal Equality’ (平等性智), ‘The Wisdom of Profound Insight’ (妙观察智), ‘The Wisdom of Perfect Conduct’ (成所作智), you are able to guide your own behaviour and transform those human emotions (人间的情感) through the application of wisdom.

In fact, these four kinds of wisdom taught by the Bodhisattva are inherent in us. Unfortunately, we do not put them to good use or practice. Hence, as they gradually dissipate, we fall into a state of confusion (迷惑).

Source: Master Jun Hong Lu’s Buddhism In Plain Terms (Radio Program), 23 November 2017

< Buddhism: Your Questions Answered